Collecting YWCA Stories

22 Apr

Andy Hiles, YWCA member and owner of Life’s Journey Video, is working on a project at the YWCA similar to NPR’s StoryCorps. Here are the details:

“I am very excited to be working with the YWCA to provide a great service and experience for its members and staff. andy-hiles-lifesjourneyLife’s Journey Video is a small company that focuses on preserving personal histories on video.  The idea for the project at the YWCA came from seeing the great opportunity to learn from the stories and experiences of members and staff of the YWCA.  Since I have been coming there for better health and fitness, I have met some very interesting people that have brightened my day and made my workouts much more enjoyable.  It also made me realize there is a large community out there, with great stories, that goes largely unheard.

When I started to put this business together I realized very early on that giving back to the community was important for any business.  In my case I love a good story.  There are and have been people in my life who have helped me greatly, with that same spirit I wanted to use my skills and talents to do what I could for others.

The program focuses on a one-hour one-on-one type interview/conversation. The conversation will be in two parts. The first part will be about the person’s experience with the YWCA, the second part will touch on other life experiences. Each conversation will be recorded on HD video media and transformed into an video. When we mail the video to person a week or so later there will be a donation envelope with the DVD and they are welcome to make a donation to help with editing costs.  Also we will put together a short video for the YWCA to use as well, reflecting the conversations and experiences that the participants have had at the YWCA. The plan is to provide a great tool that can be put on a website to further the membership of the YWCA.

I will have three one-hour conversations per Friday afternoon recording session. The sessions are currently setup for Fridays in May(May 1st, 8th, 15th, 22nd) from 11:00 am -3:00 pm. All scheduling will go through me and if there are any questions anyone is welcome to call me at any time. Lastly I would like to point out that these conversations are considered personal, and that I greatly respect and honor the privacy of everyone who participates.” 

– Andy Hiles, Life’s Journey Video, 828-582-7198

Leave a Reply

