Diabetes Wellness Success

16 Dec

How I began my journey at the YWCA five years ago, to competing in 5k run/walks this year! by Dan Mason

“I enrolled in the YWCA Diabetes Wellness Program in 2005 and began exercising. Since then I have increased the number of days I come to the YWCA to five days a week. Slowly I grew stronger with the help of Rachel, Mark, and Alphie, staff in the YWCA Preventive Health department.

In August, I was walking 7 days a week and had an opportunity to participate in a 5k. My first one was this past September; sponsored by the Asheville Citizen-Times, where I completed in under an hour, better than the time I set to finish in. I completed two more, the Black & Blue Classic in November and the Jingle Bell earlier this month. At the Jingle Bell, I was determined to place. With a time of 43.79, I placed third in my age range (55-59)!

It is from the encouragement of the Diabetes Wellness Program staff and participants this was all possible. I also find walking helps ease anxiety and issues related to stress. I have come off of all of my diabetes medications and am much healthier today than I was when I first started on this journey. With my efforts combined with the team at YWCA cheering me on I have something to look forward to placing first next time around!”

YWCA Diabetes Wellness Program

The goal of the Diabetes Wellness Project is to empower those with diabetes to develop the habit of exercise to better manage their illness. The program includes: a commitment to exercising a minimum of 8 times a month, membership to Club W: The YWCA Health and Fitness Center, peer mentorship, fitness counseling, monthly educational sessions and workout support groups.

For more information on the YWCA Diabetes Wellness Program call Alphie Rodriguez at 254-7206 ext. 212.

5 Responses to “Diabetes Wellness Success”

  1. Lil Simpson December 17, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    You have come a long way! The old adage, “When the going gets tough, the tough gets going,”certainly applies to you. Lil

  2. Ron Simpson December 17, 2009 at 11:36 pm #

    Hang in there and keep up the good work. I am really proud of you. Ron

  3. Amy Towns December 17, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    Very well written and I am very proud of you. This encourages me to do more. Amy

  4. Rachel Blattner December 22, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    Dan is an inspiration to me, and has taught me many things. -Rachel

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dan Mason’s Success Continues | eliminating racism, empowering women - January 13, 2011

    […] update on YWCA Diabetes Wellness Program participant Dan Mason‘s journey through physical activity and disease […]

Leave a Reply

