Our Public Safety Officer

24 Mar

The YWCA of Asheville is fortunate to have Charlton Owens on staff as our Public Safety Officer. His main responsibility is to manage traffic in our parking lot during busy times. But Charlton takes it upon himself to help in other ways as well, such as educating YWCA families about child safety seats, or assisting with YWCA special events. Charlton is very passionate about his role at the YWCA and we are grateful for his service.

This post was motivated in part by a YWCA member who let us know that he saw Charlton scoop up and protect a two-year-old who had dashed away from his parents and out in front of a car. Great work, Charlton! When we complimented about his alertness, Charlton simply said, “Aw, shucks, it’s just part of my j-o-b.”

2 Responses to “Our Public Safety Officer”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sanuk D » Blog Archive » Take the long way home - June 22, 2010

    […] I’m a busy guy.  Not “wear my Bluetooth headset in the grocery store” busy, but busy nonetheless.  I’m working on “important things” like “philanthropy” or “finance” or “fitness.”  There are days when I am on my way to Club Dub and the parking lot is a bit full.  Sometimes on those days, I see the security officer chatting with a Ydub member and I wonder if it is not clear that I am an “important guy” who is “busy” and “needs to go work out.”  I forget that in addition to just doing his job, the security officer is part of the reason why I thing the Ydub is such a great place.  It is a place that knows people.  The center’s blog tells a story of their security officer, Charlton Owens, who once raced in front of a vehicle to protect a toddler who had gotten away from his parents. […]

  2. Charleton Owens’ Son, Anthony Ray Gilmore « - June 22, 2010

    […] I’m a busy guy.  Not “wear my Bluetooth headset in the grocery store” busy, but busy nonetheless.  I’m working on “important things” like “philanthropy” or “finance” or “fitness.”  There are days when I am on my way to Club Dub [Club W] and the parking lot is a bit full.  Sometimes on those days, I see the security officer chatting with a Ydub [YWCA] member and I wonder if it is not clear that I am an “important guy” who is “busy” and “needs to go work out.”  I forget that in addition to just doing his job, the security officer is part of the reason why I thing the Ydub is such a great place.  It is a place that knows people.  The center’s blog tells a story of their security officer, Charlton Owens, who once raced in front of a vehicle to protect a toddler who had gotten away from his parents. […]

Leave a Reply

