Another New Club W Triathlete

19 May

We are following two folks in the YWCA Club W Triathlon Training program on this blog. Here are some excerpts from Susan’s journal.

Late Feb 2010 (before training)
I have a dream – I want to do a triathlon! Over the past few years, I’d lost focus on my health. Sure – there were plenty of reasons – crazy job, travel, obligations, knee injury, love of strawberry cheesecake blizzards…on and on. I always thought of this sedentary life as something temporary. But as the years went by the weight piled on (how dreadful it was to have to start shopping in the “Big Girl” section), the joints hurt more and the zest for living just seemed to dim.  I knew I needed a goal- something to shake me out of my coach potato coma.  I had started working with a fabulous personal trainer, Ellen Garrison, for my knee rehab.  She told me of the great triathlon training that the YWCA does.  Ellen was confident that I could do the tri and really encouraged me. I talked with my Doctor – from a health perspective; he thought the tri was perfect for me. I’m ready. Bring on the Tri!

March 9 – Tri Kickoff meeting
I went into the meeting all excited- telling myself “I’m a tri-athlete!”.  And then – out of no where – all of my negative self talk started to gush out. As Jeff described the training I started to think “ Who am I kidding – I can’t do this. I can’t even run. I weigh too much, I’m too out of shape….blah, blah, blah.” Ms Nasty-thoughts had taken over my brain and I decided I’d just slip away and forget this whole tri thing. Then I thought- if I don’t even try – what will my health be like in 5 years? How can my health change if I don’t have the courage to try some new things? So, I gulped, and signed up.  The fear of not changing was finally greater than the fear of changing.

April 16
I’m going to attend the tri spinning class, but I’m really concerned. How can I manage an hour biking class when I’ve been struggling with my shorter weekly sessions? Well, Susan set up my bike before class – what a difference! No pain! The hour went by so quickly. (Note to self – pain is bad. Comfort is good. Ask for help next time in pain.) My confidence skyrocketed! I can bike. I really like the Club W trainers – so far I’ve worked with Jeff, Susan and Carol. They not only are really good, but they’ve got such big hearts. I’m glad to be part of the YWCA.

April 23rd
Attended Jeff’s Chi running class. Wow! What a difference. I really have to focus on my posture – but the benefits are worth it. Running is so much easier.

April 30
My favorite part of the training is swimming. It’s such a joy to effortlessly glide through the water. I always combine the lap swimming with plenty of stretch time in the water. Makes the muscles and joints feel great. I have no clue of what my speed is…which I’ll have to measure before the tri.

May 13
Well, time to check in on how I’m doing. Things are going very well. The structure of the training suits me. So far I’ve lost 8 pounds, but more importantly have gained so much confidence in myself. I hadn’t realized how much I had doubted my own capabilities.

As I train, my speed is really inconsequential. My focus is my health. Where I land in the pack during the tri really doesn’t matter to me. What does matter is that my life is getting better and healthier every day.

5 Responses to “Another New Club W Triathlete”

  1. Jeff May 20, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Susan – this story needs to be shared to a larger audience. Hopefully, when we get closer to race day we can get the local papers to do a feature on our 3 year group!

  2. jay May 20, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Fabulous! What a terrific boost for health and confidence. You go girl!

  3. Katie May 20, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Susan
    You go girl!!!! I am cheering for you. This has been a big year for many of us-you know about the big changes I’ve jumped into. You’re right-you can’t wait until it seems “right.” You have to take a deep breath…and JUMP.
    If I can work it out I will be there, yelling, offering water as well as big grins for you.

  4. Sara May 21, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Susan – what an inspiration for all of us!!! It is such a hard thing to break out of our daily routine, even though the little voice tells us we must. Having caring, skilled people around us really helps, and they keep us accountable. I’m looking forward to seeing more about your progress in future journal excerpts.

  5. Terry June 13, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Susan – Great Job!!! You are always such an example of taking charge of a situation! This is a wonderful way to honor yourself and your heath! I will be routing for you on July 18th…

Leave a Reply

