Board Member Profile

22 Jul

Name:  Lynette James

Career: Managing Consultant in the University Speaking Center at UNCG, currently an Academic Learning Center tutor (English and open computer) at AB Tech.

Education: Graduated from UNC Greensboro (Anthropology/Spanish, Religious Studies minor); low-residency MFA in creative writing in progress from USM Stonecoast.

History: Asheville native returned to the area after finishing a BA at UNCG

Community Service: University Ambassador, part of an Asheville-Buncombe Library Systems grant project promoting early literacy among economically-challenged families.

Interesting Fact: When I was a child, my family only moved one time…to the  house next door.

Why I wanted to be a YWCA Board Member: I wanted to be involved in my local community and the immediate impact of this organization as well as its amazing mission statement really impressed me.

Photo by Shutter Shack Photography

One Response to “Board Member Profile”

  1. Colleen Kelly Mellor January 2, 2011 at 1:33 am #

    Lynette–I am a blogger age 65 who writes http://www.biddybytes.com (since last July 4, 2010). I am also a published writer whose work has appeared under the name colleen kelly mellor as well as Biddy Bytes. I am contacting you because I am looking for someone in this area (I live in Weaverville) who can help me bring my blog to next level. Specifically, I am looking for someone who can help me add social connection icons (I use WordPress and I know it’s relatively simple, but I don’t know how to do, so I don’t). In addition, I want to connect up all my posts with Twitter and whatever. In other words, I want to Tweet away and do whatever else you younger folks do to get your work or your voice “out there.”

    I volunteer at prison in Rhode Island, teaching women to write; I have done so here at jail in Asheville and may begin program this winter for other women who are at risk. I am wondering if you know WordPress (common blog host–Joy Behar has it among many) and if you’d be interested…

    Let me know if you do this type of thing…I see that you list computer skills, so I am wondering it there’s possibility of our working together.

Leave a Reply

