Advocacy Alert

7 Apr

The Advocacy Committee of the YWCA wants you to know that the N.C. General Assembly is in session and working on a 2011-2012 budget to be proposed in coming weeks. The current leadership is proposing a budget that would greatly affect the YWCA, its budget, its services and the families we serve. Specifically at risk for cuts are the childcare vouchers that the State currently provides to income-eligible families to subsidize the cost of quality child care while they work or attend school. 

The Advocacy Committee believes this is a serious threat to the availability of quality, affordable childcare. In keeping with our mission to serve children and families in WNC, access to childcare is a priority for the advocacy committee and to the entire YWCA family.

The Advocacy Committee would like you to take a few moments to call or email state legislators that can impact this issue. Tell them you want continued state funding for childcare subsidies so that working parents can keep their jobs and continue to pay taxes to the State and Federal governments.

Representative Tim Moffitt Tim.Moffit@ncleg.net 919-715-3012

Representative Susan Fisher Susan.Fisher@ncleg.net 919-715-2013

Representative Patsy Keever Patsy.Keever@ncleg.net 919-733-5746

Senator Tom Apodaca Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net 919-733-5745

Senator Martin Nesbitt Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net 919-715-3001

Please take the time to advocate for quality, affordable childcare for all WNC families.  If you would like more information about the proposed budget and other legislative issues affecting the YWCA, please call or email our Executive Director, Holly Jones. Phone: (828) 254-7206 or email holly.jones@ywcaofasheville.org

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: