Announcement from YWCA E.D. Holly Jones

14 Oct

Almost sixteen years ago, I was given the chance of a lifetime when I became Executive Director of the YWCA of Asheville. Over those years, I have had the privilege of working with scores of volunteers and staff members to lead this association to a place of strength and promise, always with our mission, “eliminating racism and empowering women” guiding us. A new vocational opportunity, grounded in our powerful mission, has presented itself, and I believe it is the right challenge for me to pursue at this time in my life.

In January 2012, I will be assuming the role of Regional Manager for the YWCA Southeast Region. In this new role, I will be working with 23 local YWCAs, in seven southeastern states, to strengthen their organizational capacities and enhance the YWCA’s collective voice. Fortunately, I will be able to assume the duties of my new job and base the Southeast Regional Office here in Asheville.

My departure from the YWCA of Asheville fills me with much sadness, because I think of this place as my home. It is the most alive and diverse place in our city and it is filled with people dedicated to serving women and children and having a significant positive impact on the community. In addition, the people here have reminded me daily of the mission we are all dedicated to. My heart is filled with enormous gratitude knowing that the lessons gained here at the YWCA of Asheville will help me serve and strengthen our sister associations in the Southeast.

Transition of a long-time executive director is never easy. Yet I believe the organization is poised well for the future and ready for new leadership. The YWCA of Asheville is strong –programmatically, financially and organizationally. The current board has great leadership and vision. The staff is talented, committed and solid.

I will continue to be the YWCA’s biggest champion, ever passionate about the work being done daily and the people working and volunteering for our mission.

Thank you for believing in the YWCA!

photo by sandra stambaugh

4 Responses to “Announcement from YWCA E.D. Holly Jones”

  1. Cynthia Drew October 14, 2011 at 6:08 pm #

    Wonderful news and sad news and all the same news. May you flourish in your new position. Blessings and best of luck – everyone at the Y will miss you!

    • Joe Cobble October 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      WOW, what a wonderful new position where you can impact your mission in multiples, share your skills and talents exponentially. I hope you will begin to participate in politics as a citizen rather than a commissioner so that you will have more deserved time for yourself and your family -:)

  2. Jen Maurer October 17, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    Congratulations Holly!!!! So glad you won’t be leaving us!

  3. YWCA of Asheville October 19, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Holly appreciates your well wishes!

Leave a Reply

