New Choices Success Story

21 Nov

We are very happy to share this letter with you:

My name is Gabriela Volkomer and I am writing this letter to let you know how grateful I am for the support I received from the YWCA New Choices program during my job search.

I am Mexican and I am a naturalized U.S. Citizen. I am married and I have 2 children. My family and I moved to Asheville a year ago. I spent months looking for a job with no luck. Some of the barriers I faced during my job search were related to the fact that I was a female and part of a minority group looking for a job during a major financial crisis where unemployment rates were rising week after week. Also, I was discouraged and frustrated because I wasn’t able to go to job interviews since it was hard not having family or friends who could help me with my kids.

All of this changed when I learned about the YWCA Drop-In Child Care through Job Link services. Once I contacted the YWCA my life started to turn around. Thanks to the support I received from the New Choices Drop-In Child Care I was able to attend a series of job search workshops and I learned how to build my resume, how to network, and how to do well in a job interview. Thanks to the Drop-In Child Care I went to several interviews and got some job offers.

Now I am currently employed at Pisgah Legal Services, a non-profit organization that provides legal assistance to low income people that need assistance with housing, disability, consumer law, Medicaid, etc. I work at the Domestic Violence Unit which helps victims of domestic violence obtain protective orders from the court. I am a bilingual court advocate for the Domestic Violence Unit at Pisgah Legal Services.

Once of the the things I enjoy most about my job is the feeling of knowing that I am helping people, that our services are having a positive impact in the life of our clients. I realize that this is all possible because of the support I received from the YWCA during my job search. Now I have a job that gives me the opportunity to give back and to help people to change their lives.

Thank you so much for having such wonderful programs like Drop-In Child Care and for all of the support you provide to the community.

******

Many thanks to Gabriela for sharing her story. If you would like to make a donation to support the YWCA’s Drop-In Child Care program, click here.

Leave a Reply

