Meet Felicia and Joshua – our new Health & Wellness staff!

2 Jun

Joshua McClure, Club W Coordinator

Joshua McClure, Club W Coordinator

Joshua McClure, Club W Coordinator

How long have you lived in Asheville? I’ve lived here 25 years.

What attracted you to the YW? The mission statement. You look at different jobs and different missions – eliminating racism and empowering women really stands out and drew me here. I want to take it a step further and empower the community.

Favorite thing(s) about the YW so far?  Getting to meet a variety of people. I like how open, friendly, and diverse people are at the YW.

Tell us about your background? I used to work for the City of Asheville Parks & Recreation as the  Program Director. I worked with after school,  different community outreach programs and implementing different events. I’m a recent graduate from Western Carolina University with a degree in Psychology and Elementary Education.

What do you do in your spare time? I like to dance and to hang out with friends.  I enjoy running and being active.

Felicia Blow, Membership Coordinator

Felicia Blow, Membership Coordinator

Felicia Blow, Membership Coordinator

How long have you lived in Asheville? I’ve lived here for almost 5 years. I moved here from Raleigh, where I was born and raised.

What attracted you to the YWCA? I’m really interested in the mission and the community-engaged work. I have a strong interest in community development and organizing, and I really support the kind of work here in eliminating racism and empowering women on both a personal level and in the work that I’ve done.

What are your favorite things about the YW so far?  It’s very welcoming. Everyone has been nice and I’ve been able to hit the ground running. I’m excited to strengthen relationships with members and coworkers.

Tell us about your background?  I just graduated from UNC-Asheville in December with a Bachelor’s in Sociology and Psychology. While I was there I helped open a resource center for women, LGBTQ community members, and survivors of sexual violence.

What do you do in your spare time?  In the summer I enjoy swimming, hanging out with my cat Smokey, and reading for fun now that I’m not in school.

Leave a Reply

